The Castle of Maintenon
Discover this magnificent castle near Paris !
This residence, which was the property of Madame de Maintenon, secret wife of the Sun King, has its origins in the 13th century. Built by the lords of Maintenon of the Amaury line, it was bought in the 16th century by Jean Cottereau, intendant of Louis XII, who enlarged it and gave it its current elegance. It was in 1674 that it became the property of Françoise d’Aubigné, widow Scarron, also known as Madame de Maintenon.
It was at this time that Louis XIV commissioned Vauban to undertake the staggering project of building an aqueduct to carry water from the Eure to the fountains of the Palace of Versailles. However, this site will stop abruptly for lack of workers, then sent to defend the kingdom against the league of Augsburg. It was in the 19th century that the castle would see its last modifications: the elevation of the main courtyard and the interior fittings, initiated by the Noailles family, who have since bequeathed the estate to a foundation to preserve this magnificent heritage.
But it is indeed to meet Madame de Maintenon that you will go through the apartments, rich in numerous paintings and furniture. This dive through the centuries will fascinate history lovers. It will end in the park, a real invitation to contemplation. His painting offers us the perspective of the gardens faithful to the design of Le Nôtre, then of the Louis XIV canal and finally its astonishing aqueduct.